Skip to main content

Press Releases


02 Jun 2017

AEV announces 2 new working group chairs

The Association of Event Venues has, today, announced the appointment of two new working group chairs, firstly, Sian Richards has been appointed to the role for the eGuide Working Group, and Michelle Baldwin for the Event Managers Working Group.

Sian Richards, business services & sustainability manager at Olympia London takes over from Jonathan Smith. Jonathan took the decision to stand down as chair of the group, as he will shortly be leaving Farnborough to join the team at Goodwood. This change takes place with immediate effect.

Michelle Baldwin, senior event manager at The NEC will be taking over as chair of the Event Managers Working Group from Emma Chilton of ACC Liverpool, also with immediate effect, and will be supported by Tom Edwards, senior event manager at ExCeL London, who becomes vice-chair, with a view to becoming chair after Michelle has completed her two year term.

AEV director, Rachel Parker, commented, “We are delighted to welcome Sian, Michelle and Tom to their new working group roles, and to thank Jonathan and Emma for their hard work and support as previous chairs.

The AEV working groups each provide a focus on areas of critical importance to event venues. They are comprised of a number of individuals who have volunteered to share specialist knowledge and skills freely.

Through regular meetings they examine key issues, make valuable connections, share best practices and suggest practical approaches to develop and improve their specialist disciplines. They are the “go to group” of experts and an invaluable resource when considering specific operational challenges.

As well as running our own venue-specific working groups, the AEV also participate in relevant groups with AEO and ESSA members. These combined groups draw from the broader range of talent and expertise across all areas of the event industry.



Member Venues