Skip to main content

Press Releases


20 Sep 2018

The new chair of our Board is announced

The new chair of our Board is announced

BoardJeremy Rees, chief executive of ExCeL London, is to step down as chair of the AEV Board.

Dan Thurlow, director of exhibition sales, SEC and the current vice-chair, will take his place. Max Bull, executive director of venue sales, BDC will replace Thurlow as vice-chair.

The board also welcomed two new members, Brian Dobson, head of sales & events, Harrogate Convention Centre, joining the board in place of his colleague, Simon Kent, who is leaving after 7 years.

Landsec PLC, which joined the AEV in March 2018, will be represented on the board by new member Clive Johnson, who is Landsec's group head of health, safety and security.

Speaking after the meeting, Thurlow thanked the outgoing chair for his service, saying: “I'm sure I speak for the whole board when I say we are tremendously grateful to Jeremy for his tenure as chair.

Over the last two years under Jeremy's leadership, the AEV has helped venues draw inspiration from outside the industry more than ever, and helped create valuable networking opportunities allowing members to engage, share with and learn from their peers.”

Relinquishing the chair, Rees remarked: “The AEV is a superb association, and it has been a privilege to chair the board guiding its development and growth over the last two years. Dan has been an indispensable vice-chair, and I look forward to seeing the new directions the board will take with his guidance.”



Member Venues