Skip to main content

Diversity, equity & inclusion (DEI) hub



Welcome to the cross association DEI hub 


The DEI hub provides a pool of resources of articles, podcasts  amd videos including access to the five pillars of inclusion.

Resource content has been recommended by AEO, AEV and ESSA members.


Discrimination means treating you unfairly because of who you are. The Equality Act 2010 protects you from discrimination by:

  • Employers
  • Businesses and organisations which provide goods or services like banks, shops and utility companies
  • Health and care providers like hospitals and care homes
  • Someone you rent or buy a property from like housing associations and estate agents
  • Schools, colleges and other education providers
  • Transport services like buses, trains and taxis
  • Public bodies like government departments and local authorities.

International Women's Day


International Women's Day is a day to reflect on the achievements of women around the world and emphasise gender parity. The theme for 2024 is 'inspiring inclusion'.

We have gathered some amazing female #eventprofs from throughout the industry to share their thoughts on what this special day means to them.

Take a more detailed look at their thoughts

Nine protected characteristics

There are nine protected characteristics in the Equality Act. Discrimination against one or more of these characteristics is unlawful under the Act.

  • Age
  • Disability
  • Gender Reassignment
  • Marriage and civil partnership
  • Pregnancy and maternity
  • Race
  • Religion or belief
  • Sex
  • Sexual orientation

Find out more about your rights under the Equality Act 2010

If you’re treated unfairly because someone thinks you belong to a group of people with protected characteristics, this is also unlawful discrimination.


Reveal the resources in the graphics below.



Ageism, is stereotyping and/or discrimination against individuals or groups on the basis of their age.

This may be casual or systematic.



A disability is any condition of the body or mind (impairment) that makes it more difficult for the person with the condition to do certain activities (activity limitation) and interact with the world around them (participation restrictions).

Gender reassignment

Gender reassignment

The process (typically involving a combination of surgical procedures and hormone treatment) undertaken by a transgender person in order to alter their physical sexual characteristics to match their gender identity.

Marriage & civil partnership


The Equality Act defines marriage and civil partnership as someone who is legally married or in a civil partnership.

Marriage can either be between a man and a woman, or between partners of the same sex.

Civil partnership is between partners of the same sex.

Pregnancy & maternity


Maternity is used to describe things relating to the help and medical care given to a person when they are pregnant and when they give birth.



A race is a grouping of humans based on shared physical or social qualities into categories generally viewed as distinct by society. The term was first used to refer to speakers of a common language and then to denote national affiliations. By the 17th century the term began to refer to physical traits.

Religion or belief


Belief is a state of the mind when we consider something true even though we are not 100% sure or able to prove it. Religion is a collection of cultural systems, belief systems, and worldviews that relate humanity to spirituality and, sometimes, to moral values.



Sex refers to a set of biological attributes. It is primarily associated with physical and physiological features including chromosomes, gene expression, hormone levels and function, and reproductive/sexual anatomy.

Sexual orientation

sexual orientation

Sexual orientation is an enduring pattern of romantic or sexual attraction to persons of the opposite sex or gender, the same sex or gender, or to both sexes or more than one gender.

Other considerations



Menopause is the time of life after a woman's, trans or non-binary person's last period, leaving a hormone deficiency.  The years leading up to that point are called the menopausal transition or perimenopause.  During this phase, many have changes in their monthly cycles, hot flushes, brain fog or other symptoms. 



Neurodiversity is a term used to describe differences in the way people’s brains work: "neuro" referring to the brain and "diversity" to difference. This means there is a wide variety of ways that people perceive and respond to the world.  Neurological conditions include austism and ADHD, in addition to learning disorders such as dyslexia and dyscalculia.

Five pillars of inclusion

Recognising the need for greater diversity in the industry, event professionals have sought guidance on improving diversity, equity and inclusion (DEI) in the workplace.

   The result of this guidance are the 'five pillars of inclusion' with the following measuring scale to gauge DEI within a company.


Read more about the five pillars

All resources have been recommended by AEO. AEV and ESSA members.  If you have a suggestion for additional DEI resources please let us know.   SUBMIT A RESOURCE


Member Venues